The 115th Street Branch of The New York Public Library, built with funds given to the city by Andrew Carnegie, opened in 1908. A 3-floor building, its distinctive facade and enduring elegance inspired its designation as a New York City landmark building. The New York City Landmarks book describes it as “an uncommonly rugged and handsome structure designed by McKim, Mead & White in the rusticated Italian palazzo style.” Old-fashioned in character, the library is furnished with lovely wooden display cases positioned along the wall on the first floor.
Materials for adults and teenagers are located on the main floor. The children’s room is located on the second floor. The branch has a tradition of encouraging neighborhood groups to use its location as a venue for programs. The library has evolved into a focal point of community activity and learning as well as a testing ground for new artistic productions and talent.